Asthma Can Be Deadly?

When I was younger, I had asthma but I ended up growing out of it. This same thing happened to my dad when he was younger. Ever since I was a kid I wondered why I got asthma and if it was hereditary since my dad had it too. I also wondered how we both grew out of it and how we got it in the first place. Because I had so many questions, I started researching this topic.

In my research, I found out that asthma is caused by inflammation in airways. This makes since to me because during an asthma attack, you can’t breathe and it hurts really bad and it feels like you are being suffocated and your lungs don’t work. There are also some things that cause asthma and asthma attacks. Some of these things are animals, dust, changes in weather, exercise, and pollen. But as well as these things cause asthma attacks, you can do a few things to reduce the risk of suffering from an attack. You can change out the air filters in your house or keep the clutter in your house under control.

I also found out that asthma attacks can be caused by tobacco smoke from cigarettes. The smoke gets in a person’s lungs and it can trigger an attack. So to be safe, you should never ever smoke or even breathe around a person who has asthma. I also learned that smoking can have a similar effect on your lungs as asthma does. Smoking causes your airways to start to close up and it could feel like you have asthma if you smoke. Also, if a person who has asthma just breathes in another person’s second hand smoke, they could start wheezing and it could get very hard to breathe for them.

During an asthma attack, what happens is your airways become swollen and inflamed and the muscles in your airways contract, causing your breathing tubes to narrow. This, I know from experience, is very painful. The way to help an asthma attack feel better is to stop it from even happening. If you feel like it all of a sudden gets hard to breathe, stop what you’re doing and take slow, deep breaths.

All in all, I feel that asthma is a very important disease that no one really pays attention to. More people than you know have asthma and it is actually a very common disease.

Do you know anyone who has asthma?

If so, have you ever seen an asthma attack take place?

Do you know how asthma is treated?

2 thoughts on “Asthma Can Be Deadly?

  1. I have physical asthma and I have had an asthma attack so I know what it feels like to have one. It is not a good feeling because I felt like I lost my breath and couldn’t fully get it back. My little brother has asthma in general and has to be nebulized every day because he is too young for an inhaler. Asthma is different for everyone so it is best to ask your doctor about yours to get the best treatment plan. There is no permanent cure for asthma but there are things you can do reduce it. You can take medications like budesonide, flunisolide, ciclesonide, and beclomethasone. You can also use an inhaler when needed. Another thing you can do to reduce your asthma is stay away from triggers. Some more triggers to add to yours are cockroaches, mold, sprays, like perfume or hairspray, pet dander, and feathery things like down pillows, and quilts. I do agree that asthma is an important disease that most people don’t think of when they think of diseases.

    http://www.aaaai.org/conditions-and-treatments/asthma.aspx

    http://www.advair.com/asthma/about-asthma/living-with-asthma/avoid-asthma-triggers.html?cc=p1113c00098:e1:d1:w1:p20&pid=328755&google=e_&rotation=7471&banner=47195&kw=328755&gclid=CLygrcLOsL0CFa07MgodDksA5g

  2. I know some people who have asthma. They use inhalers to relieve there asthma.
    I seen an asthma attack and it’s very scary because you know that the person who is having an asthma attack can’t breathe very well.
    A short-term relief is using an inhaler; an inhaler relieves coughs, wheeze, tightness in the chest and other symptoms.
    Get checkups if you think your asthma is serious.
    Other ways to solve the problem are medicine or surgery which would be last solution to try.

    http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/health-topics/topics/asthma/treatment.html

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *